Inner banner image

Meet Our Teacher

Meet our Teacher of Art: Chloe Dulson

Generic placeholder image

What subjects do you teach?

Art & Design

What different age groups have you taught?

KS3 & KS4 at The English College and KS3, KS4 & KS5 in previous schools

How long have you been teaching?

This is my 5th year

Why did you become a teacher?

I became passionate about Art when I started Secondary School, the Art room was my happy place. Throughout university studying Art I travelled during each summer where I taught at Camp America in Maine, New England and volunteered teaching English at schools in Ecuador, South America. I enjoyed these initial teaching experiences, especially with teenagers so decided to combine both teaching and art.

What is your favourite part about teaching?

Being able to witness a student progress over time, and see their confidence build when using new mediums or learning a new technique is truly the best!

What is your best advice for a teacher who is starting his/her career?

Be patient with yourself! It takes a long time to build up a rapport with a student and for you to earn their trust, especially with a subject like Art as you are aiming for the student to take on board your advice there and then. Get as much experience as possible before you apply for your PGCE, I worked with 4-18 year old students so that I was sure I was making the correct decision.

What and where else have you taught?

Archery and Fitness in Camp America, English in Ecuadorian Schools, and A-Level Photography in the UK.

Which school and university did you go to?

Flixton Girls’ High School in Manchester, UK
Liverpool John Moores University in Liverpool, UK.

Besides teaching what have you done for work?

Whilst at college and university I worked in retail part-time, I worked at Selfridges, DKNY and Hugo Boss as a suit specialist and tailor.

What are your hobbies? What else do you do for fun?

Painting, drawing, spin class, running and hiking

If you could be anything else, what career would you pursue?

Midwife, Educational Psychologist or Art Curator

What’s your biggest achievement?

Climbing Ben Nevis, running 10k in 58 minutes, surviving the world’s longest zip wire in Jabel Jais, completing the Yorkshire three peaks in under 12 hours, achieving a first degree in my dissertation at university, and working hard to become a teacher